Marriage Licenses

Contact us at (419) 636-1548 if you have questions


Marriage License hours are Monday through Friday from 8:30 a.m. to 4 p.m.


  • Ohio Residents: at least one applicant must reside in Williams County and have proof of residency. (Proof can be valid drivers’ license, rent receipt or other proof as requested by Court) Photo identification is required for both applicants. (Driver’s license, passport, photo ID) Birth certificates are not required, but can be helpful as we ask you information from your birth certificate, i.e. parents’ full names, where you were born, etc.
  • No Blood Tests are required in the State of Ohio.
  • Both parties must be over the age of 18 to apply. Applicants under 18 must have parental consent and meet additional requirements as required by state law. Prior to applying for a license applicants should contact the court to review requirements. A 17 year old may apply for a license, but must have parental and judicial consent, and provide proof that marriage counseling by a counselor approved by the Court. The clerk of the Probate Court has the form the counselor must complete and applicant must file with the court. The Judge makes the final decision about granting a license to underage applicants.
  • Previously married applicants must present their Final Decree of Divorce or Dissolution, Judgment Entry or Order granting their most recent divorce or dissolution and must disclose the number of all prior marriages regardless of how they ended. This paperwork must contain the Case Number, date the divorce/dissolution was granted and name of parties. If the divorce occurred in Williams County, you may obtain the information from the Clerk of Court’s office on the 3rd Floor of the Courthouse. If the previous marriage ended in the death of a spouse, bring the death certificate. The first name and age of minor children (under 18) from all previous marriages is required.
  • The license is good the day it is issued and for sixty (60) days from that date. Williams County residents can use the license anywhere in the State of Ohio. An Ohio license may not be used in any other state. Out of State residents who intend to be married in Ohio, must use the license in the Ohio county where the license is issued. Applicants getting married in other states must obtain a license in the state in which they are to be married. Call that state first to find out their requirements.
  • This Court does not perform marriages or make arrangements for weddings.
  • Officials must be registered with the Ohio Secretary of State before they can perform weddings. Applicants can go to the Ohio Secretary of State’s website and check to verify that the official is registered before they perform your marriage ceremony.
  • The Court checks this registry when the certificates are returned to the Court to verify that the Official is properly registered. If the official is not registered with the Secretary of State, the license is void.

It is a violation of R.C. 2921.13(A)(12) to knowingly make false statements upon an application for
marriage license. This violation carries a penalty of imprisonment for not more than six (6) months
and/or a fine not to exceed more than One Thousand Dollars ($1,000).


  • Cost of Marriage License is $40 Cash or Credit/Debit Card (convenience fee of 3.5% charged for Credit/Debit Card use).
  • Certified copies are $7 in person and $7.50 by mail.
  • Personal checks are NOT accepted.